1 Motion Type: Project Intro, Recollections and Title sequences

We started the project by discussing the brief and sharing ideas on what we could do. The initial homework was to think about an ‘impactful’ event and research title sequences. I considered a few events that I had strong emotional attachments to, but none of them felt ‘life changing’.

It was only after me and a couple of friends discussed moments of our lives—and had a crying/weeping/bonding session—that a memory was triggered.


The Event:

I used to take my younger sister down to the parking lot to play on the swings. Whenever it was time to come back upstairs she would, of course, resist coming inside.

It was one of those days where the lift had travelled up to our floor, and she refused to leave the lift. On a summer day that was feeling the feverish Doha heat, I wasn’t in the mood to deal with her tantrums. I threatened to leave the button of the lift and let it go back down, with her inside, if she didn’t get out of the lift. The hall outside was cramped and lit by dim fluorescent tube lights. The heat plus the claustrophobic atmosphere didn’t help. She kept a defiant face. I let the lift close. She wasn’t old enough to reach any of the buttons. I don’t know if this is my brain messing with my memories, but I feel like I saw something change in her face as the doors closed on it.

My plan was to get down to a lower floor via the stairs and pick her up from there, but for some reason the doors didn’t open. I started to hear her crying. Could it be fear? But she had looked so brave! Panicking and unsure of what to do I ran up and down the dimly lit stairs, hoping to catch it open on one of the floors. There were windows on some of the floors and bulbs on others. Lights flashed by in a blur as I ran and the narrow space felt like it was closing in. By this point, I was crying as well and regretting what I’d done. Usually, her cries would irritate me, because my child-self knew when she was faking it. This time, I could hear the terror in her voice. I imagined her feeling lost, helpless and abandoned, all because of me.

Since I was panicked and young myself, I didn’t have the sense to simply push the button to call her back. I ended up finding that she had walked out on to a random floor. We shared a sweaty and tearful embrace as I carried a sniffling toddler back home. What hurt the most was that she didn’t hesitate for a second to embrace the one behind her torment.

Even now, when I recall this event, I feel the remorse I had felt then. Never in my life had I felt more wicked and evil. The only thing preventing me from feeling vile is that I know that I was young and brainless at that age. I’ve become more attentive to peoples’ emotions since then. Despiting having a brave face, she was distressed. An action that I thought was insignificant ended up impacting her in such a huge way. What was small to me, was huge to someone else.

The experience in words:

 play, feverish, heat, grumpy, cantankerous, cranky, cramped, dim, (dingy, gloomy, murky, dark), claustrophobic, restricted, fake, irritate, aggravate, exasperate, annoy, threaten, bluff, menace, intimidate, pressure, defiant, bold, resistant, gallant, brave, crying, fear, lost, helpless, vulnerable, powerless, weak, unsafe, abandoned, neglected, terror, fear, distress, despair, panic, frenzy, alarm, confusion, run, rush, race, hope, flash, bursts, glows?, beams, rays, blur, hazy, narrow, tight, closing in, regret, remorse, shame, apology, wicked, evil, vicious, ugly, vile, brainless, distress, sweaty, tearful, poignant, underestimate.

play, feverish, heat, grumpy, cantankerous, cranky, cramped, dim, (dingy, gloomy, murky, dark), claustrophobic, restricted, fake, irritate, aggravate, exasperate, annoy, threaten, bluff, menace, intimidate, pressure, defiant, bold, resistant, gallant, brave, crying, fear, lost, helpless, vulnerable, powerless, weak, unsafe, abandoned, neglected, terror, fear, distress, despair, panic, frenzy, alarm, confusion, run, rush, race, hope, flash, bursts, glows?, beams, rays, blur, hazy, narrow, tight, closing in, regret, remorse, shame, apology, wicked, evil, vicious, ugly, vile, brainless, distress, sweaty, tearful, poignant, underestimate.

^ I emboldened words that I felt I could work with to capture the feeling I had in that moment.


Title sequences and Motion Type:We were given Saul Bass and Cooper?? as starting points.  Watching the title sequence for Se7en was actually probably the best way I could have started this project. Apart from that I watched a bunch of others for inspiration.

We were given Saul Bass and Kyle Cooper as starting points.  Watching the title sequence for Se7en was actually probably the best way I could have started this project. Apart from that I watched a bunch of others for inspiration.

My favourite title sequence (although it’s not very type-based at all):
http://www.artofthetitle.com/title/walk-on-the-wild-side/

In terms of manipulating the type, Cape Fear split the type to match the forms of the water ripples:
http://www.artofthetitle.com/title/cape-fear/

My second favourite was the Title Sequence for Thank you for smoking. It was really clever the way they integrated the credits with cigarette packets. I noticed it when the name “Maria Bello” was specifically integrated with a design that resembled the Marlboro packet:
http://www.artofthetitle.com/title/thank-you-for-smoking/

Official Title Sequence of Kiss Kiss Bang Bang. Reminded me of some of Saul Bass’s sequences, but with heavier manipulation/motion of the type (shattering, hierarchy of appearance, style of entry/exit, type turning into an illustration)
http://www.artofthetitle.com/title/kiss-kiss-bang-bang/
^This kind of title sequence is probably the kind of style that I found the most inspiring, aside from Se7en

These are examples I found of Motion Typography done by a student called Stephen Elliget. His work looked inspirational as well for looking at ways to put type in motion:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zEIm9pxr5_E
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iwIy0enG6uU

Leave a Reply

