The Martian

I was looking at how I liked the ‘space-like’/futuristic feel of the type on the book cover of The Martian that I thought of using this as one of my inspirations.

TheMartian

Not only do I like it, but I also think it’s a good typeface choice (at least for it’s current purpose). Good, because it fits the context of the story, it fits into the kind of types that are always associated with technology and space. Why I like it is probably because of the same reason. It looks like something that belongs on a NASA space station. A typeface that you’d find on the exterior of a spaceship.

The inner concept of the type was also to do with telling a futuristic story (the way the D in Andy is the only letter with a serif, adds to this). The concept behind the design and it’s unconventional (in the sense that it’s not very common in an everyday situation) look was what caught my eye in the first place.

Leave a Reply

