MeYouUsThem: Final (pre-critique), printing and Final reflections

So before printing our finals, we had to bring in 2 of our close to final works. I did that. But then it RAINED. So instead I got feedback on Google+.

Screen Shot 2015-12-07 at 11.14.11 AM copy
^ The first problem that I found immediately was the weird printing of the blacks. We figured out the problem. The hexadecimal for RGB didn’t matter. The C M Y K mattered. At some places I only had the K as 100%. The solution was to change all the colours percentages to 100. This ensured a really rich black.
Other than that, I really felt like the the ‘tetris’/puzzle shaped black areas (2 on the left) were working really well. I thought that the colours were organised better and that the viewers eye was guided through the composition well. But both the professors agreed that the other composition was stronger somehow. I didn’t see it initially, but after discussing it with my friends, they showed how there was some sort of a cohesion happening. It was underlying, but it was there (in terms of the forms and the colours).

I got suggestions from them to consider changing the way my type was (the colours) and inverting some images. I tried that, but the colour (yellow) they suggested didn’t work very well. Greyish colours or colours that linked to the image next to it worked better.

After we came back from the ‘rain break’, we had a proper, class critique.
Screen Shot 2015-12-07 at 11.08.38 AM
^
A lot of my class mates preferred the composition that had white in the centre. I thought I was close to bein done, because a lot of people felt like their eyes were being drawn around in a circular motion through the composition.

Then I got feedback. The professors both agreed (and a friend had said this earlier), the white chunk of white in the middle had become overpowering. Some images and areas worked really well individually, so the white area would have looked good if it had been on it’s own. Especially since I created a ‘moment’ there where the word ‘curious’ was interacting with the maze next to it.

Either way, A good solution I got suggested was to flip the composition. This changed the way my colours flowed to a much more cohesive way. I altered my composition to make it go from blacks, to blues to a slightly brighter row of colours at the bottom. The main difference between my images now was that there was a majority of black in blank spaces, not white. We also discussed how the lego and eye image may not work. I always felt unsure of the eye image, so I finally decided to take it out.

I still had problems though (of course).
Screen Shot 2015-12-07 at 11.44.29 AM copy
^ Getting my last row to be cohesive was the most difficult. In the poster, Bottom row, second from left was an image that stuck out like anything because of how white it was, in comparison to the rest of the poster. In the end I came up with the solution of using a mainly red tinged image, covering it half with a green layer (multiply) and half with a blue one. This way it linked the the green on it’s left to the blue on it’s right.

In the end it was minor changes like picking the colour for the word curious and shifting it slightly. I tried green, mainly because we’d been told it created a vibration when green type was on red.


Screen Shot 2015-12-07 at 11.08.49 AM
^ Last minute problems. We thought we’d have to print by ourselves, but our professor must have given up on our abilities by this time of the semester/didn’t want us to mess up the printer. But seriously, he helped us out. DESPITE this, there were so many problems. Some students had the completely wrong colour printing out. For me, there was no colour issue. No. For me the printer had something special. It decided to print out a completely different image altogether. Somehow the professor worked around the problem. He didn’t tell us how…

I’m guessing it must be to do with rasterizing the layers that we put in InDesign, before exporting as a PDF. Although, I assumed that exporting as a PDFn would be rasterizing everything anyway. Weird.


 

Screen Shot 2015-12-07 at 11.52.10 AM copy

Reflection:

The final critique was different from all the ones that we had so far. Everyone was tired. We simply discussed what we’d done so far, going over vocabulary (semantics/syntactics) and talking about how we’d felt throughout the experience from the beginning to the end (images to deconstructing).

To wrap up we went and looked at everyones to get an understanding of the firstness/secondness/thirdness.

What struck me was how everyone seemed to have a distinct style. I don’t know how but it was visible, more in some than others. Apparently I had one too, but I don’t know what it is. The only thing I see about my style is how it looks like an intense hallucination (so trippy). So is my style complexity and really vivid colours? That was the general meaning of what some people were saying.

Anyway, the struggles I faced. So many. I had a lot of technical issues (camera not focusing/capturing correct lighting, photoshop glitching up, printer printing the wrong image) and then there were the conceptual difficulties. I faced these mostly in the 3rd week, where we had to go REALLY abstract. But I’m proud because most of my best images are from this week.

Through the struggles I learnt quite a few things. Never trust the colour on screen, always do test prints. InDesign is magical. Honestly. I’d never touched InDesign before this project but dare I say it, I think it has surpassed Illustrator as my go-to for organising pictures and pages/documents. Save, always. Exporting pdfs (because printing directly from InDesign will take HOURS). Setting up strong compositions (especially in terms of lighting). Setting up the white light, ISO in a camera and printing from the big printer < such a professional name [plotter?].

Those were just the technical things I learnt. Conceptually, I learnt how to deconstruct and recreate an object in hundreds of different ways. I hate to say it, but now, I really don’t think I have an excuse if someone tells me to make a table [something else uninteresting] look cool. I really don’t. The hardest part was deconstructing for a narrative. Telling the narrative of the robot. I got to doing that successfully much later than I was supposed to (while composing) since it was only after composing everything together did some of the narrative come out.

Leave a Reply

