Bean Bag: Last project

So the last project had to be about anything we wanted, to put it simply. We had to be able to relate it to design technology and Graphic Design. It could either be a continuation of one of the projects we’d done, or something else that we have in mind (that we can relate).

Ideas I had:

  • Stop motion, using clay?
  • 3D printed blob – eyes pop out
  • Plushie

Initially decided on a plushie. Later I got together with a friend and we planned to do a collaborative project where we made a beanbag.

Things we need to keep in mind:

Materials: Fabric, eps beads, magnetic strip, sewing machine

Idea: Making a beanbag based on a blob character. It will have magnetic eyes that can be attached to certain parts of the bean bag.

Why I’m doing this?

Will be learning something completely new. Never finished proper.  Never really used a sewing machine. Stop motion with clay, I find it annoying (I don’t think that clay will sculpt into blob shapes easily). 3D printing, I already have a prototype, know exactly what I want to do. Normally I’d prefer this (knowing exactly what I want to do), but since this is the only class where I feel like I can actually do anything without messing up, I’m going to go for the idea that I know the least about. So beanbag it is. We both had our different reasons for this project (she already seemed to know how to work with the medium).

Amreen’s plan:

Week 1: creating the blueprint+ buying materials+ process

Week 2: Assembling the outer structure of the bean bag+ learning how to stitch+ making the eyes+ process

Week 3: placing magnetic strips in the lining of the bean bag+ attaching magnets on the back of the eyes.

Week 3 and a half: Done!! (hopefully)

The one I made:

W1: buy materials (fabric ,beads, magnet) get used to sewing machine – talk to someone in fashion??

W2: experiment

W3: experimenting with final

W4 (finals deadline): finalising < try to finish in w3

^ Clearly she had made a better plan. This is probably why I never end up following my schedules. They’re never made well. If I hadn’t seen her plan I wouldn’t have even realised how vague mine was.

Why I’m interested in it:

Will be learning something completely new.  Never really used sewing machine. Stop motion with clay, I find it annoying (I don’t think that clay will sculpt into blob shapes easily). 3D printing, I already have a prototype, know exactly what I want to do. Normally I’d prefer this, but since this is the only class where I feel like I can actually do anything without messing up, I’m going to go for the idea that I know the least about. Because…I like plushies.

Links I’ve found for reference:

http://www.instructables.com/id/Plush-Ball/

http://projectnursery.com/2014/05/diy-kids-bean-bag-chair/

http://larkcrafts.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/Stuffed-Animals-Online-Templates-CORRECTED11.pdf

BETTER reference for ladder stitch:

http://www.positivelysplendid.com/2013/02/sew-a-pillow-closed-by-hand-blind-ladder-stitch.html

We decided on magnetic strips because Amreen mentioned how using actual magnets would hurt when someone sat on the beanbag

Leave a Reply

