Sentences: Round 3, working with intervals and ‘not too much at once’ and Final discussion.

  • Experimenting further to make more informed decisions about the type:
  • trying to get the maths right (font sizes in this case):
  • Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 1.10.39 PM
  • interval from baseline or ascender?? Which one?? :
  • Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 1.11.31 PM
  • Does the ‘T’ start here (left) or here (right):
  • Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 2.02.07 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 2.02.16 PM
  • does the yummy moon need to be here (left) or here (right)? Baseline touching the grid (left) or x-height line touching the grid line (right), or ascenders? I am so confused:
  • Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 1.11.38 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 1.30.47 PM

^ (above right) 3rd line is 2 (intervals?) from bottom, and top line is  2 from top? Is that right?

  • Fixing tracking after changing the type to italics:
  • Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 2.45.14 PM

The yummy moon sentence is half from left, 2 and half from right. Is that balanced? Not sure whether the interval is supposed to be from the left or right. Or whether it doesn’t matter. Or whether there needs to be a ratio-ed interval from the left AND the right (and top and bottom?)::

Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 1.31.00 PM

I tried creating a ‘dynamic’ composition, with a triangle formation with the lines. The letter ‘a’ is in line with the ‘w in writer’ (bottom left). The third line is half a square from the right margin of the page, the same as the line is secretly (bottom right):

Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 1.43.04 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 1.45.21 PM

I still have difficulty figuring out which one ‘looks good’. For example, I don’t know which one looks good from the above two.

I also thought it would be interesting if I had this composition:

Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 1.45.21 PM

, but the top two lines were one page and the last line was on a second page right behind it, I could create something interesting. The first page could be creased halfway, suggesting the viewer to fold the bottom half upward, revealing the last line on the page behind it. But when I went for a discussion I realised that it was way too early for me to be thinking about how to do something ‘different’….

Discussion:

There were a lot of problems with a lot of what all of us were doing. Here’s what I took away from the discussion:

I’m focusing too much on following the rules. If the rules make mathematical sense, but don’t look right ‘visually’, the system needs to change (or I can break the rule slightly???) Highlighting ‘secretly’ makes it redundant (verbs like ‘loves’ can be more interesting). In fact, my line break would be far better where I cut it after ‘yummy moon’ instead of ‘is secretly’. Even ravioli isn’t as interesting. Activating the ‘magic’ points of quadrants can make the composition more dynamic. Also, even though I thought I wasn’t doing too much, I was still changing the font sizes, which didn’t add to the type or composition. Instead it looked distracting.  A lot of struggles. I wouldn’t have had learnt anything if I hadn’t made those mistakes but – !!!! Stress. I think the stress is there mostly because I thought I knew what I was doing, but wow I don’t think I’ll ever know. I mean, how do you know?? Can you ever know? I should write about this for Philosophy class. But seriously, how do you know when words on a page are dynamic and beautiful?

Leave a Reply

