MeYouUsThem: Second Week (remaking, drawing, combining)

Wabi sabi – breaking something and then putting it together again. This was a suggestion we got for this week to help with rebuilding my object to give an essence of what it was – not a direct copy. Apart from that we had to draw/paint our objects using a variety of media and then experiment with combining images (from everything we had done so far).

For recreating I thought of wood and wool to get the physical essence. Then origami to get the essence of the process and how I felt while building it (therapeutic). People suggested that I could use twigs or layer paper. I got the idea of gluing LOTS of screws and hardware like things together in a form that resembles the physical form of my robot. Except…I don’t have that many screws.

To start with Redrawing early, I quickly selected one of my photographs with the magic wand, made a work path and applied a stroke on it. Couldn’t get the stroked path to become a layer. Couldn’t find relevant links on Google [‘turn a path into a rasterized line’] either, so I talked to my professor about it. We figured out a way of selecting the path and stroking it on a new layer.
Which now that I think about sounds so logical, I don’t know why I didn’t figure it out myself.

  • I wasn’t crazy enough to actually build origami boxes. Want to give the look that it had been built, so made loads of ‘strategic’ creases, the kind you’d normally get when doing origami, and glued the stuff together.
  • Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 9.59.42 PM copy
  • Next came trying to get the look of the wheels. Surprisingly it was very difficult to find an origami wheel or gear design online:
  • Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 9.53.02 PM 2

So. I had a talk with my professor from the other class about what I was doing to remake my object. She said ‘duplicating is different from recreating‘. She helped me and a bunch of others understand that we couldn’t just remake what the object looked like. That’s like copy-pasting.

Instead we could exaggerate the meaning or significant (most interesting) parts of the object. And it shouldn’t look ugly. Which made sense, since we are in design school. But wow, I did not think about remaking in this way. I felt like I was getting somewhere. Totally feeling that way right now. She said that my object had a disconnected quality (which was an interesting part).


I wasn’t sure how I was going to take these suggestions but later I had the idea of printing out a sheet of programming code ((perhaps with my sister’s name? too cheesy now that I’m writing out the idea)) and make the ‘hardware’ of that.

I didn’t want to drop the origami shapes I built, since they gave an essence of the physical shape of the object. I just needed to get the concept into it. I thought that I could also shape the wire in quirky ways. Because if I think about it, the most significant part of the object was how it relates to my love of creating and enjoying technological things like this one. This was the reason I started with the origami in the first place. The other significance was the link that it made between me and my sister.

I’m seriously lost for ideas on how I will show these concepts. I might simplify to one.

Looking over my keywords helped:

robot, panicked, sister, learn, curious, cool, buzz, technological, puzzles, suspense

puzzles is what made my brain tick.

If I think about it now, the codes idea wasn’t cool. It wasn’t the codes that was the fun part, the codes only related to my sister. I didn’t need such a lame reference to show my connection to my sister, the entire robot itself was a connection. My love for ‘technological puzzles’ is a connection.

  • Silly me. It was a weird in the shower idea anyway.

So first I tried joining my origami things together in a ‘puzzle‘ formation. Didn’t work. But it does look curious…
Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 10.03.55 PM copy
^An extra thing that I succeed in doing [wasting my time?] was making the wheels move like actual gears..it was for some reason difficult to find a simple tutorial about moving paper gears as well.
I got the idea of doing this was after I discussed what I was doing with Law. Talking to him reminded me of how my robot was to do with play as well. And to me it was like play. So I could still work with the origami idea, but make something playful, instead of duplicating the robot visually. ‘Beyond the fold’ was a reference he gave me.

Making the origami wheels was like a puzzle too…


Talked to Denielle about the feedback I got from Muneera. Basically I should just try stuff. This was a point where different professors have different opinions. I just need to try stuff. I decided to try my origami idea after I did my more ‘conceptual’ idea of screws.

Decided to try making the building block shape out of screws. Blu tack didn’t work..so  decided to use an overload of glue to set them together like ‘resin’.
Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 10.24.34 PM copy

“That looks really cool” – friends. YES!…but does it look ‘not ugly’?

So it looks cool. And apparently it doesn’t look ugly.

SD card went ‘corrupt’ While I was photographing the recreation. I hate it so much. Always does this last minute. I hate it with a passion. Thankfully a friend had a spare one.

I started the drawing/painting part. Simply vector image tracing initially. I found that Black and white logo trace are the same as sketched art? Line art and technical drawing are very similar, and not very nice to look at…

I moved on to using candle wax to do ‘resistance painting’ with water colours. When it started to not look very promising I moved on to gestural drawings.

drawings and recreation:

Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 11.36.39 PM

I liked my screw recreationn and the coloured gestural drawing in particular. The minimal watercolour painting looks promising too. Images like these work because they can be layered and combined in a ‘natural’ way:

Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 11.37.03 PM

 

When it comes to curating Simple things like choosing between two very similar images I find the most difficult:

Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 11.33.05 PM copy

 

Leave a Reply

