3 – Working with Organic Paths

A friend tried helping me with animating my blob using the puppet tool. I politely listened, even though I totally new that’s not what I was going for. I even tried what the friend suggested, but it really didn’t work.

So I did some research.Googled “organic path After Affects”. Found a tutorial that seemed to be about what I wanted to do.

Used the basic idea of the tutorial to animate my own blob (the dripping one). It was about using paths of shapes on Illustrator and pasting them as points of a mask on After Effects. The good thing about this method was that editing the path on Illustrator was easy with the warp tools:

Animation11organicpathexp Animation11organicpathexp2

I wanted a red blob so I had to make a red solid first, then make a simple mask, then paste the points from the Illustrator shape:Animation12organicpathexp Animation13organicpathexp

While I was working on this I also decided to work on the sound for my animation (ticked the ones that seemed relatively nice compared to the others): Animation17soundfinding

^ I knew from my experience with stop motion animation last year (also a blob animation) that finding a decent blob sound effect on the Internet was very close to impossible (I found none).

I did find a video showing how a sound designer in Japan made the sounds for a Zombie Apocalypse game. The sound of a Zombie eating brains was basically the sound designer eating a melon and crackers in a very uncultured manner. He also used some water Udon noodles for a slurpy sound. I saved this knowledge in my brain since it was very likely that I’d end up having to make my own sounds.

Moving back to the animation, i noticed How the points didn’t move very smoothly. One (the only) solution suggested by the tutorial was how I could pick a consistent set first vertex. It solved only half of the issue:

Animation18organicpathexp

The only other way of doing this (that seemed to work when I tried figuring it out with my professor) was editing the mask point by point (ensuring they moved naturally). Since this wasn’t a very efficient method I decided to look into other methods. I tried looking into the brush tool and liquifying effects. None of them produced proper results:

tutorialsforblobanimation1 Animation21brushtool

^ The brush tool was basically a path as well, so we couldn’t really ‘paint’ blobby shapes. In fact, it gave less freedom and flexibility compared to the points on the mask I was using.

tutorialsforblobanimation2 tutorialsforblobanimation3

All other tutorials on using the brush tool was about creating an effect on the path itself (path created by the brush tool). Not what I needed

tutorialsforblobanimation6

^ I found other tutorials that were basically doing what I was doing (point by point animation) except instead of using a mask they used a shape made using the pen tool.

I also stumbled across using “particles” and using the particle world effect to create your own particles:

tutorialsforblobanimation11  tutorialsforblobanimation13

^ I decided to read more into it before trying it out. What I got was that it was basically that, particle like effects, for fireworks or snow or other kind of animations of ‘dusty’ things…particles. Also not what I wanted.

The only way seemed to be the painstaking way I was doing already.

Another thing we covered today was the importance of exporting the videos correctly. Need to go in ‘format options’ and make sure I haven’t selected ‘animation’. Another thing I had to google was how to export parts of my animation (use b and n to select a part of the timeline, and then simply export it like normal).

Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 1.47.31 AM

Leave a Reply

