Word: Experimenting with photoshopping to…not photoshop (shadows)

I experimented with trying out the the coat scans as a background for my letters.

It was Not working:

Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 1.54.58 AMScreen Shot 2015-10-07 at 1.55.09 AM PAPERBASE

This letter is cut from a photograph of it being arranged on tiled paper^

I tried what cutting the clothes from on top of a carpet would look like (I had made the letter directly on the carpet – hence the wonky type):

 

Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 1.56.10 AMScreen Shot 2015-10-07 at 1.56.22 AMCARPETBASE

I felt like it looked less photoshopped (or maybe it was a psychological thing)

Either way, I was able to establish that the ‘suitcase’ background was not going to work. Not only did it look unconvincing, the fact that there was a huge ‘BOSS’ throughout the fabric was distracting. It had no reason to be there, made no sense and would be distracting.

I felt like I could simply work with a carpet background (like someone arranging their packing). I couldn’t figure a way to photoshop the letter without making it look photoshopped.

My professor showed me a way that involved using the pen tool to precisely outline the letter, turn the path into a selection and blur the edge to remove the ‘clipping mask’ look.

I decided to ask him how to make a shadowwy look like there is in this photograph:

 

DSC_84

It involved the motion blur Filter ****Shadow effect****:

1PSfakingshadowsdropshadowmotionblur1

2PSfakingshadowsdropshadowmotionblur2 3PSfakingshadowsdropshadowmotionblur3

4

 

PSfakingshadowsdropshadowmotionblur4

PSfakingshadowsdropshadowmotionblur7

Leave a Reply

