Merging: Tightening the ‘gestalt’

ge·stalt
ɡəˈSHtält,-ˈSHtôlt/

noun

  1. an organized whole that is perceived as more than the sum of its parts.
    So initial google searches showed me that gestalt was an Escher like optical illusion/double image thingy:
    gestalt
    Apparently that was all wrong and I shouldn’t listen to that. Gestalt actually umbrellas a bunch of visual principles, that when followed create an image with high ‘gestalt’/balance. I think.

    So I should try doing things like making the ray parallel to the diagonal line and making the stroke around the cars half or a third of the stroke of the circle, I think.

    I compared images to see which to use for the low vernacular sign:

compareheadlights2 compareheadlights3

When trying to make everything look “balanced” I found that my flashes weren’t exactly symmetrical. Had to fix that:refiningray  Focused on the unofficial sign (the one on the right looks clearer AND more unofficial). I also altered the form of my unofficial cars because distinguishing between the front and back was a problem:

Before                                                                           Aftersigngestalttight2

Measuring the thicknesses of lines:signgestalttight3 signgestalttight4 signgestalttight5 signgestalttight6 ^Fixing annoying parts like these

Again, comparing the thicknesses of strokes/shapes (stroke of ray compared to wheel for example)

signgestalttight7 3/4 ^signgestalttight8 black didn’t show upsigngestalttight9 signgestalttight10 Still not working^signgestalttight11 Getting closer^signgestalttight12 Yay!^ signgestalttight13  signgestalttight15 signgestalttight16 Just checking to make sure I don’t have any stray paths/shapes^ cmd+y

Getting the lit part of the car in the front to match the rest of the image was a nightmare. When I altered the shape of my car, I’d also altered the shape of where the wheel fits.

signgestalttight17

And getting the strokes of everything to match and look like a whole was just…:signgestalttight18 signgestalttight19 Green for clearer look at what’s happening^

signgestalttight20 signgestalttight21 signgestalttight22 Ughhh!!!^^^

signgestalttight23 I had to momentarily turn of the snap to point and smart guides feature of illustrator. This allowed me to move the wheel the minute distance that I wanted to move it (otherwise it just kept snapping into a position that was slightly off).signgestalttight24 The yellow didn’t look clear enough. I gave myself the creative license to assume that the official, global and local signs would most likely use fluorescent paints to paint the yellow parts. Unofficial wouldn’t, so I had to come up with  a different solution ^ strokes and a slight change in colour.signgestalttight26

Leave a Reply

