Merging: Test 1 (testing Low Vernacular sign)

I WAS planning on scanning my different iterations, because paint would give a different look from charcoal. I decided against that, because I encountered and even bigger problem. I tested my low vernacular signs on my friends (from school, not university). I did this because most of my friends in university knew what I was doing already. This group of friends included girls and boys.

I had a big shock.

Nobody got it at all. At all.

Here’s a summary of the testing (what most people said):

Idea was not clear at all. Most people understood that it was to do with no tailgating or that something was wrong with the cars/ it shouldn’t be used/ it’s not allowed.

The red lines have a harsher, stronger tone (indicating more danger). Yellow seems like a more casual warning. Black lines with the diagonal stroke – seat belts.

The photos of the headlights were also not that visible because they were dark, but looked more ominous (high vernacular?). This set made the idea more obvious, because there was more focus on the actual lights.

lowvsigntest1

lowvsigntest2

lowvsigntest3

lowvsigntest4

lowvsigntest5

lowvsigntest6

lowvsigntest7

lowvsigntest8I was struggling with what to do differently at this point so I decided to tell them what I was aiming for.

lowvsigntest9

lowvsigntest10

lowvsigntest11

lowvsigntest12

lowvsigntest13

lowvsigntest14

lowvsigntest15

lowvsigntest16

lowvsigntest17

Cropped into the car headlights:

lowvsigntest18

lowvsigntest19

Asked a Different person after cropping into the car headlights:

lowvsigntest20

Ugh, why??

Goals, emphasise there is a problem with the lights. x over the LIGHTS (NOT THE WHOLE CAR)!!! Show that the lights are FLASHING!!! I could try a different perspective.

Leave a Reply

