Character Design: characters in a background/setting

Using the feedback I got from the critique (about the colours) I decided to use an online colour palette generator to help me. My friend linked me to a few sources. I preferred this one the most: Paletton

My pink, blue and green blob family became these colours:set1 3 adjacent colours, with complementary.

Screen Shot 2015-09-21 at 11.25.10 PM      ➤     set5

 

Gradient Mesh issues:

set2 ^ I discovered that once you add a gradient mesh to a shape, there is no longer a path or anything that can allow you to edit the shape of the object.

set3

^ Same goes with any distortion. You can’t add the gradient mesh to a distorted shape, or distort a shape that has a gradient mesh.set4 ^ Found this cool tool? ‘Recolor Artwork’ that allowed me to switch the colours in my shape with another group of colours.

 

All my sets:set5 The weird gradient on the brown screaming blob didn’t look very nice.

Again…the blobs stole the attention. Especially the red one. It made sense why, but when I suggested a possible way I could take it further:Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 4.44.26 PM^ I thought I could have drippy blobs dripping into or around objects.

Instead I was recommended to focus on just the blob and how it interacted with the space. Experiment with different consistencies, different angles of the space (how would tilting the square look?)

Leave a Reply

