Blobs: 4 characters in white space – black and white

We were supposed to have made our characters in black first, then turned them into coloured characters in a background.

Of course, my brain refuses to work the right way round, so I did this task in the opposite order.

Screen Shot 2015-09-16 at 9.10.41 AM

I made the black characters by considering the coloured ones I made earlier.

Screen Shot 2015-09-21 at 11.54.04 PM

^ It was easier for me to fully create and understand the different consistencies of blobs once they were in colour, interacting with their spaces and had gradients (more dimension).

Translating that understanding into non-gradient black versions was easier than it was to make the black blobs first.

Remember how before my blobs were just gumdrops…? That’s what I’m talking about. Making the coloured ones helped me to detach from the ‘typical blob’ shape that had been ingrained into my head – the gumdrop blob.

Leave a Reply

