Character Design: Surprise drawing session

Walked into class expecting to show my characters’ families.

Instead we picked two toys/figurines and turned them into flat vectors, then into coloured ones.

DesignTech7drawingexercise DesignTech6drawingexerciseDesignTech5drawingexercise DesignTech4drawingexercise

With a variety to choose from, I decided to go for these odd looking ones:DesignTech3drawingexercise

I discovered that there was no easy way to colour areas in Illustrator. I HAD to make each shape that I wanted to colour. So a lot of object>expand happened…DesignTec43DesignTec44

^ I made a system of copying and pasting sections, uniting the paths, then expanding. Copying and pasting ensured that each section fit perfectly with the one above. This was a better idea than drawing it out our tracing with the pen tool.

Later…Gradient mesh magic for dimension DesignTec68^ I got practicing with the tool some more with this drawing. I figured out that I didn’t need to add an extra ellipse for a stronger highlight (like I’d done with my blob). I just needed to add more mesh points at a closer proximity.

The second object, which I thought would be simpler to make, actually turned out to be TONS harder than the first one.

It started off simple. What lies.DesignTec46 DesignTec47DesignTec48

Nothing wrong yet:DesignTec49^ Simply used the width tool on a straight path

Now begins the horror:DesignTec50 ^ Rulers to have anchors at the same points on each stripe. DesignTec52 DesignTec51 DesignTec53DesignTec56

Used a clipping mask to cut out the excess width of the lines that I wanted foreshortened. Then copy, pasted and reflected the 3 paths on the right.DesignTec57

Eyedropped the proper coloursDesignTec58DesignTec60

More width tool:DesignTec62

Now that I’ve listed the steps like that, it sounds easy. It wasn’t. Take my word for it. It wasn’t. Really.

Now the simpler part:DesignTec65DesignTec67

Ended with these:

DesignTec83Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 1.57.53 AMIt’s interesting how the varying outlines and the use of gradients (or lack of) have different end effects.

Leave a Reply

