The Minimalist Golden Key: Two days before Final critique day

“So, how’s it going,” said The Senior.

“Ehhhhalrightsortof,” came my reply, “…Let me show you…”

“Sure!”

So, I showed him…how I hadn’t taken heed of his advice ‘…yet’.

I had tried putting a glow around the chest, made the strokes thicker and just did a bunch of stuff to make me feel like I’d gotten something done and didn’t have a crisis after he’d last critiqued my work. I had the crisis anyway.

Screen Shot 2015-09-11 at 11.08.33 PM

^ The glow didn’t work out and it looked weird so I considered cropping into my poster, to make it less obvious. Since I remembered him saying how I shouldn’t be so direct and try and be more metaphorical.

Screen Shot 2015-09-11 at 11.24.55 PM

^ This wasn’t exactly my idea of a good metaphor, but ‘at least it was more abstract,’ I thought.

Screen Shot 2015-09-11 at 11.49.05 PM < the gradient mesh was weird to work with since I was trying to get ray-like effects and I didn’t know how to do it. It was just trial and error…

Rays (left) vs just glow (right)Screen Shot 2015-09-11 at 11.54.21 PM

So, I showed him these ^

Screen Shot 2015-09-11 at 11.54.32 PM

And he didn’t seem convinced. Him and another senior read my story and went over the keypoints in the story once again. The next vital thing he did was give me artists for reference.

Screen Shot 2015-09-20 at 1.35.52 PM

^ Keeping my story in mind I could even go for something as minimal as this.

Screen Shot 2015-09-20 at 1.34.29 PM ^ I could keep the colours and lines simple and make something that is something also become something else. It doesn’t make sense when I say it like that, but what I mean is playing with negative and positive space and the way one thing could turn into another (like the girl’s hair turns into the trees).

Screen Shot 2015-09-20 at 1.35.31 PM ^ I could work in layers of silhouettes, again keeping the colours very minimal.

After doing a good deed he left me to my own devices annnd I went and did some work for Type class…because that was due the next day. Imaging was the day after. Yes, shame on me.

Leave a Reply

